V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am building a chopper guys fxr and was wondering if a V Rod VRSCA triple trees and shocks might fit. looking for suggestions to allow dual disc brakes and a 130 front tire and wheel (19"). This is my first build and am open to suggestions. Mike in Alaska

·
Registered
2,767 Posts
I would Never recomend a Chopper Guys FXR [wannabe] as a project...especially the First.
But, I may be too much of a purist!!!
Look at that Cult site maybe??

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would Never recomend a Chopper Guys FXR [wannabe] as a project...especially the First.
Thanks for the note on the Cult site. Do you have a link?

·
Registered
8,351 Posts
daytec used to make a stout fxr frame, bigdog used it on their boxer model,, it still wasn't a real one

dont know about the front end,,, except the tubes will be way short..

·
Registered
3,070 Posts
Chopper Guys is a excellent frame. Nothing closer to OE, welds are better than OE. A friend has VRod forks on his FXR. I'll PM you on how to get a hold of him.

·
Registered
182 Posts
We are upgrading an 83 fxr to Vrod 49mm forks and calipers (dual) with newer 11.5" rotors, used a dyna tree and stock 83 front wheel.
Can't remember right now the year for the rotors and triple tree.
If interested, i will look up parts used.

BTW, we put a twin cam (2006) 5 speed in as well and a belt drive.

·
Registered
3,070 Posts
See if this works. click on the link.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
We are upgrading an 83 fxr to Vrod 49mm forks and calipers (dual) with newer 11.5" rotors, used a dyna tree and stock 83 front wheel.
Can't remember right now the year for the rotors and triple tree.
If interested, i will look up parts used.

BTW, we put a twin cam (2006) 5 speed in as well and a belt drive.
I would appreciate the help. When you have time please. Thanks

·
Registered
3,070 Posts