V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I'm pretty new to working on bikes, so this may be a dumb question, but...
I took off the inspection cover to check the slack in the chain, and it's kinda hard to get an accurate measure of how much upplay I have in the chain. Is there any kind of trick to get an accurate measure, or do you just sort of go by feel. It's a pretty tight squeeze getting my hand in there far enough to push up on the chain, I can't figure a good way to get a way to measure the upplay as I push on the chain.

·
Registered
62 Posts
If you had a 'L' shaped object, and that object could be slid through the inspection opening and used to lift the primary chain you would be able to see the relative movement of the 'L' shaped object in the inspection window thus indicating the movement of the chain. Hope this makes sense. The 'L' shaped piece could be made from lexan or steel rod with a 90 degree bend. Should'nt take long to knock one out. Big Dog

·
BFFB
833 Posts
primary chain

i use a cheapo give away ruler with a logo on it,,,,its very thin and flexible,,,,i dont trust my feel since i have only looked at it 5 times,,,,25k on my bike,,,what i dont get is its never been outside the correct range,,,why isnt my chain stretching fx dean?

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
irbigdog said:
If you had a 'L' shaped object, and that object could be slid through the inspection opening and used to lift the primary chain you would be able to see the relative movement of the 'L' shaped object in the inspection window thus indicating the movement of the chain. Hope this makes sense. The 'L' shaped piece could be made from lexan or steel rod with a 90 degree bend. Should'nt take long to knock one out. Big Dog
Thanks Bigdog.....I feel like a moron for not thinking of that. I knew there was a simple solution and I was just thinking too hard to come up with it!

·
Registered
12 Posts