V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 Road glide and want to upgrade to the Screaming Eagle hydralic tensioners, cam plate and high volume oil pump. I'm no mechanic but can do most things except electrical. Do I need any special tools like a puller to pull the inner cam bearings. Also are the cams pressed into the plate? How difficult is this job? From glancing at a manual it doesnt seem too difficult. Thanks.

·
Still in one piece
269 Posts
You can upgrade to the new style camplate by just buying the new style camplate with the pump. The only diff is the cams. Andrews makes an 'N' cam which fits the new camplate and a smaller diameter on the rear of the cam to fit the older style inner cam bearings. If you go that way, there's no pressing except for the inner cam bearings. Andrews makes a complete kit and so do others. And you're right, not too difficult a job.

·
Premium Member
11,928 Posts
You can upgrade to the new style camplate by just buying the new style camplate with the pump. The only diff is the cams. Andrews makes an 'N' cam which fits the new camplate and a smaller diameter on the rear of the cam to fit the older style inner cam bearings. If you go that way, there's no pressing except for the inner cam bearings. Andrews makes a complete kit and so do others. And you're right, not too difficult a job.
yep, the andrews conversion or woods conversion is way to go. the SE junk only fixes the outer chain/tensioneer-----the inner is still same old junk!

·
Registered
243 Posts
claydbal
Not here to start an argument, just curious why you refer to SE hydraulic upgrade as junk. I've installed a lot of these kits and never had a problem. I'm sure the andrews style conversion works well also, but you limit your cam selections with the reduced bearing cams. Didn't think the old style chain was a problem with the hydraulic tensioner.

·
Banned
1,007 Posts
claydbal