V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone installed an aftermarket head unit or cd changer themselves.Also how good is the new 2002 speaker set up .Is it a nice sounding stereo at highway speed ? thank you

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
The speakers on the new bikes sound pretty decent when you first get the bike, but they degrade rather rapidly. The speakers in the fairing are easy to replace with better units.

It is difficult to replace the head unit because you typically lose the audio controls in the grips, unless you use an infrared adapter unit for the controls, and pretty soon it's more trouble then it's worth.

As far as CD units I have no personal experience, but have heard it both ways, some seem to be reasonably happy, some say they skip a lot.
If money is no object I'm under the impression (not sure) HD has a unit made by the same manufacturer as the rest of the sound system, and one would hope it works.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks

you sure know your hd bikes thanks for the reply.If you have one more minute would you think that the stock amplifier is good enough for highway touring or would you upgrade to the enhanced sound system harley is offering in their new catalog?Also do you think I've made a good decision jumping off a Fatboy to an Ultra? Any pros or cons ?Thanks big man.

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
Just a slow little old guy. LOL

Stock system is good enough for me, but I'm not what you would call an audiophile, in particular when riding, and I'm half deaf anyway. It probably makes a difference how loud your pipes are.

Strictly from a functional point of view no one can really argue against the touring bikes being by far the best bikes HD makes, but then I'm the sort that thinks of a RoadKing as a barhopper. It will amaze you what can be done with such a heavy bike.