V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
ovanay elinquentday
2,021 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having taken down my engine for an (unplanned) Timken conversion, I decided to get all of my winter upgrade projects out of the way. Although the shop that ported my heads said that they were set at 84 cc’s, since I am changing cams, pistons, and valve springs, I wanted to verify the combustion chamber size. If it’s of any interest, here is how I cc’d my heads.

Before I even get started though, let me say that I know nothing about head porting. I’m not an expert on this stuff. I just ride, and work on my own bike and the bikes of one or two daring friends…

These heads had about 8,000 miles on them when I pulled down the engine. The combustion chambers and exhaust ports were coated with carbon. I used a dremel with a fairly fine fiber sanding brush and a cloth polishing disk, to clean the chamber, exhaust ports, and valves. I only needed to wipe down the intake ports with solvent, and I stayed away from the valve seats as I worked. The end result was a set of pretty clean, and polished, set of heads.

Pic 1 – Cleaned up head

The intake valves cleaned up nicely with minor work. The exhaust took a bit of brushing, and I ended up having the seats on the exhaust valves touched up by a racing shop.

As I checked the heads, I was curious as to what the area of the combustion chambers were at the surface. While I wanted to know about their symmetry, I figured I could use the area measurements if I have to adjust the volume of the heads.

To check the chamber area at the head surface, I taped some graph paper (marked with 0.10” grid lines) on the head.

Pic 2 – Graph paper lined up

Since these were essentially stock-shaped combustion chambers, for me it worked best to try to line up a minor line on the graph paper with one of the straight sides of the chamber. I used my finger nail to locate the edge of the chamber through the paper, and then taped the paper down.