V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
188 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read there is no HP benefit removing them using the stock pipe. Others say there is. Has anyone dynoed their bike to prove otherwise? It's a lot of work to get them out. I know the heat advantage, but would like to know the facts.

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
5,761 Posts
But if some local or state agency wants to be a butthead, you could get a 50,000 dollar fine.
(It's federal law and enforceable anywhere in the USA)

With that said, Vance and Hines makes a free flowing system and will equalize the flow side to side.

·
Registered
789 Posts
If changing to a higher flow air cleaner and free flowing mufflers can add horsepower, the why wouldn't anything that produces resistance for the exhaust reduce horsepower.

I'm no engineer but it"s my understanding that a motor is like an air pump. The more air you can pass through it, the more power it will produce. Obviously there are other factors. I realize that it's not just air flow that makes horsepower, but it's one important aspect.

Am I wrong or does just changing to a free flowing muffler add a little power? So trying to force the exhaust through a cat has to eat up a pony or two.

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
5,761 Posts
$50,000 really???
And or 5 years in jail. It's only been enforced in places like California, but this has been the law since the 1970's.

It's just been a law not applied.

·
Premium Member
188 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Are you saying they did a good job sizing the cats to flow well enough? So the only benefit is a cooler exhaust? Sounds like the cats are staying on my bike.

·
Enjoying a great Ride.
807 Posts
Im wondering if there was anyone fined to that extream, and 5 yrs in jail and I thought Florida was a Police State damn.

·
Registered
789 Posts