V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new. I went to test drive a BMW R1150RT, like I've been riding BMWs and Japanese bikes for 25 years, and I got put on a Road King and filpped. COuld not believe what I had been missing!

Anyway, its down to two Road Kings. a 2000 Carbed Poilce Bike from the shriners or a 2001 EFI from a Policeman. nearly the same bike,but I like the looks of the Black Police Bike better. Any reason not to go with the carbed bike? It's a little cheaper.

Also, the Road King I tested at Kegek's had, apparently, Kuryakyn handlebars and grips I liked'em. Wider than the stock. Any way to get similar bars for less than $300? Anyone got some used?

·
Registered
9,186 Posts
On the 00 model make sure you get the birth date. It needs to be after Dec 14, 1999 or ya got crap bearings.

·
Registered
201 Posts
I've got a carb on my Deuce and EFI on the Road King. To me, a touring bike and EFI just seem like the perfect match. Don't get me wrong, the carb is just fine but I do like the EFI. If you're going to do a lot of touring and get into major altitude differences from where you normally ride you may have rich / lean conditions with the carb but the EFI will compensate for it. It's not really a big deal, just my .02.

-jeff

·
Premium Member
380 Posts
I'm currently on an 02 EFI Road King at work, and have a 00 carb bike of my own (also a P model). The fuel injection is nice, no choke, limited warm ups, but I like the throttle response better on the carb bikes.

Right on about the cams. Mine were replaced when I had some other mods done. Had a 1999 model that were replaced twice. Harley didn't have the replacements out when they crapped out the first time, so they just put the same one back in.