V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to harleys and would like to ask what these are.
A neighbor had this done? He says with carb slider kit and SE breather kit along with punching out the stock pipes.

I have a 2003 fxdwg coming in late FEB. or MARCH .

thanks for any assistance,

kyle

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
You must mean the "Thunderslide kit" by Dyno Jet. This is a over price mod not realy needed for a 88" engine. In fact its not needed for a 95" eather. Your stock carb is fine, just re-jet is all it takes. You can go about this many ways, change the needle or the main jet, change the slow jet and adjust the air mix screw. Change the spring for easyer slide movement.

Personaly I port & polish the inlet area , polish the front of the slide, hone the inside of the slide to make it lighter (I can get .5 OZ off) shim the stock needle rejet W/ 195 main & 50 slow, make sure the A/C opening is a perfict match for the carb. Oh course I have a 95".

·
Premium Member
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i really appreciate the info. given and will take this into consieration.

THANX,
KYLE

·
Longtime Asphalt Cowboy
3,291 Posts
Good day Kyle,
I agree with Kags on the overrated Thunderslider kit. Take a look at:
http://www.nightrider.com/biketech/hd_cv_mods.htm