V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up my '02 Fatboy last week, and I love it. OK, so I'm a newbie! Have about 100 miles on it now. The manual says to keep it at 2000 to 2500 rpms for the first 500 miles, but there's no tach so I'm trying to guide myself by the sound of the engine. Any advice out there concerning what's important during the break in period?
Also, I want to keep the bike clean, of course. It looks pretty spotless after riding the first 100 miles. Should I be washing it anyway, or just wait til it begins to look dirty?

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
If you read the owners manual there is a part that tells you what speed in each gear is more or less what rpm, or there used to be.
I would up the rpm recommendations at least by 500 rpm. The absolutely worst thing you can do to these bikes is lug the engine, and 2000 rpm in 5th gear is definitely lugging.

Up to you how often you wash the bike, but excessive washing causes more problems then it solves. Ideally you would give the bike several coats of a good polymer wax, and you will see it stays clean much longer, for months sometimes, unless you get caught in rain. Never wipe it down dry with a rag either, you will see minor scratches much more on a dark bike, use one of those car dusters with a handle and red hair from WalMart.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I like to downshift when braking. Think I should go easy on that during the first 500 miles?
On cleaning, any problem with soaping and spraying off the engine parts?

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
Not a problem, within reason.

Personally I almost never downshift into 1st gear unless the bike is almost stopped, and only now and then into 2nd, but in the higher gears do it all the time. No particular reason other then that's how I ride and see no point in putting shockloads on the bike.