V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
#1 9 h ago
Hey I'm pretty new to riding. So what do l do?4 yrs ago l went and got an 2007 night rod special... Opened a new world,and chapter in my life. I blew up the damn motor, short of going to HD directly l for the life of me CAN NOT find another one anywhere. I'm being told that the 06and the 08 's are.Not compatitve nor is any other year of that model as far as engines go. Could use a kick in the right direction.I'm kinda dense on the subject..plz help

·
Super Moderator
3,033 Posts
2 threads so far.Hopefully your problem is solved before you start a third concerning your situation. Best of luck.

·
Premium Member
2,414 Posts
1130cc.com is the place to go for V-Rod problems.

·
Registered
8 Posts
#1 9 h ago
Hey I'm pretty new to riding. So what do l do?4 yrs ago l went and got an 2007 night rod special... Opened a new world,and chapter in my life. I blew up the damn motor, short of going to HD directly l for the life of me CAN NOT find another one anywhere. I'm being told that the 06and the 08 's are.Not compatitve nor is any other year of that model as far as engines go. Could use a kick in the right direction.I'm kinda dense on the subject..plz help
I'm not sure why you have been told that a 2008 would not work. It has been bumped up to a 1250cc but it mounts and hooks up still with a five speed transmission. worst case you could either use your engine mounts or buy new . I am not sure about 06 but I would do my homework . If it were me I would lean toward putting in the 08 larger motor and do constant maintaining on oil and filters. I hope this helps.

·
Registered
8,881 Posts
i have limited experience with the vrods,,, i qwked what specifically failed earlier...
how did you splatter it? running wide open and over revved? hard shifts and launches and pieces went flying?