V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
548 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to bikes, and have a '02 Sportster, 1200. I just put screaming eagle slip ons to make it sound like a harley instead of a quad. I would like to do some relatively inexpensive upgrades to my bike. (moving to Washington state, and want to be able to negotiate the mountains with ease) I talked to the dealership, and they said the best way for me to go was the Screaming Eagle Pro XL bolt in hydraulic cams, with a dynojet thunderslide kit, and SE rev limiter that goes to 6800 rpm. What do you all think? I already have the SE high flow air cleaner. Thanks for any and all help.

·
Registered
233 Posts
Instead of Dyno Jet kit from stealer buy 2 jets: slow jet # 45 (stock jet on 99 - later carburator Dyna and other Twin Cams) and main jet #180 or main jet #200 (if you will use "hot" cams). Total cost will be around $10.

·
Banned
871 Posts
usmcsportster said:
I am new to bikes, and have a '02 Sportster, 1200. I just put screaming eagle slip ons to make it sound like a harley instead of a quad. I would like to do some relatively inexpensive upgrades to my bike. (moving to Washington state, and want to be able to negotiate the mountains with ease) I talked to the dealership, and they said the best way for me to go was the Screaming Eagle Pro XL bolt in hydraulic cams, with a dynojet thunderslide kit, and SE rev limiter that goes to 6800 rpm. What do you all think? I already have the SE high flow air cleaner. Thanks for any and all help.
First, ditch the SE parts and go aftermarket. At least that's my opinion. I'm sure others might disagree. In over 25 years of building Harleys, I have found that there are much better performing parts out there for less money than the parts sold by HD.