V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
378 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've used Norton Internet Security for years, a primary reason being that it had a website ad-blocking feature.

I just found out that they eliminated this feature in the 2008 version.

Does anyone have a recommendation for a good alternative, that includes ad-blocking?

Thanks a lot, John

·
Premium Member
733 Posts
I use Trend Micro Internet Security I like it better that Norton

·
Registered
4,820 Posts
second for Trend

Divertim said:
I use Trend Micro Internet Security I like it better that Norton
I've been using Trend for a few years and other than a few idiosyncrasies it is pretty good at doing what I want. Norton and the rest all have their own idiocyncracies as well.

·
Registered
602 Posts
For what it's worth, I've been using Trend Micro for years as well. It does what I want it to do. One plus is you're licensed to install it on 3 machines.

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I'm very pleased with AVG Free - it's finding stuff and I have no funny business going on. It's free, it's easy to download and install, it updates itself, ... it's good.

·
Premium Member
85 Posts
Another vote for AVG.

It's free. It works. Doesn't have all the bell and whistles but who cares.

I have it installed on over 15 machines and no infections yet.

·
Premium Member
579 Posts
AVG. My buddy uses this on all his client's PC instead of Norton. His experience on infected computers is that AVG usually finds more viruses than Norton. He could make a living on just cleaning up PCs and installing AVG.

Surprisingly I use Symantec Corporate Edition on over 15,000 customer's machines at work and it works. I work for IBM and we use it on our own systems in the 100's of thousands. Not sure why the retail product (Norton) has to be so bad when the corporate version is good. Guess money dictates where you put your efforts.

·
Registered
314 Posts