V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
2001 FLHR Road King
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings to all! Newbie here.

I'm looking for the best cam chain tensioner. Are there any aftermarket tensioners or am I stuck with factory HD? Has HD improved the material used on there tensioners to help prevent some of the wear problems they have.

Any info would be appreciated. Thank You.

·
Premium Member
3,289 Posts
rickrod63 said:

I'm looking for the best cam chain tensioner. Are there any aftermarket tensioners or am I stuck with factory HD? Has HD improved the material used on there tensioners to help prevent some of the wear problems they have.

New chain/tensioner system for 2006 Dynas, won't retrofit AFAIK. Other than that, you are stuck with HD.

Welcome on board

·
Registered
83 Posts
Gear CAMS

rickrod63 said:

The best CAM chain tensioner retrofit;Gear Drive Kit, then retrofit the Stock tensioners in the trash can.
-2$en#e-

·
Registered
483 Posts
I must agree. I had 20 k. on my 99 and when I went to gear drive I saw way too much wear . Gear drive is the way to go. I don't notice a lot of extra noise as some folks say either. But what do I know, I'm an old bsa. tri. rider. The ones I am familiar with are all gear drive.

·
2001 FLHR Road King
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
west467 said:
The best CAM chain tensioner retrofit;Gear Drive Kit, then retrofit the Stock tensioners in the trash can.
-2$en#e-
I have Andrews cams installed, will cam gears work with these or do I need a different cam to run gears. Cost?

·
Registered
3,992 Posts
rickrod63 said:
I have Andrews cams installed, will cam gears work with these or do I need a different cam to run gears. Cost?