V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
584 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the forum(only about four days) and joined to gain information. I am looking to purchase my first Harley, or road bike for that matter, in the next few months. I started riding bikes at the age of seven, when I recieved my Honda rx-75 for Christmas. I rode until I went to college(not the rx-75...silly). From time to time, a friend would let me borrow his street bike for the day, but never took the plunge to purchasing one. I have been looking and admiring Harleys for the past eight years or so. I am ready to reward myself with my first scoot. I am about to finish my tour of defending the constitution against enemies, foreign and domestic. Being a southwest Virginia countryboy stationed in Germany(Bavaria), I am ready to go home and enjoy the fruits of my labor. Going back to the reason for joining the board, I need insight and advice. Being my first bike, is it adviseable to get something like a dresser? I like the versatility of the RoadKing. I want something that I can cruise on and take small trips with my new German wife. (Another reason why I want the Hog...convertible two-seaters aren't conduceive as a family ride.) I also like the look of the Heratige Softtail and the regular Softail. Sat on a friends Heratige and it fit me well. Then sat on a Softtail and felt bunched up. I am barely 5'10" at 225 lbs. so, I'm in the middle on height and feel too big for a Sportser. I know it is all about what you like, but it is so difficult to decide. Anyway, I just wanted to take a few minutes to introduce myself and give some background information. I am sure I will be asking questions, as I have many. From what I have read so far, everyone seems knowledegable and friendly. I hope it is extended to me. (I know....another "fifteen thousand dollars and fifteen mile" rider, but ya got to start somewhere.) Thanks for taking the time to read this and safe riding!

·
Registered