V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Still Serving...U.S. Army
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Formal introduction, eh? Well, I’m a 35-year-old Warrant Officer in the U.S. Army, married to a beautiful souvenir I picked up my first tour in Germany, 14 years ago. I have a daughter, 13 who also loves riding with me.

I rode some dirt bikes back in high school, but never had a license. Just before getting married I wanted a Ninja 750, but decided that getting married was better for me at the time. About 4 years ago, I convinced the wife to “allow” me to by a bike this way.

…while looking through a bike mag…
me: ”Babe, I’ve been thinking about maybe getting a bike.”
wife: “mmmhuh.”
me: “No really. I really like this Fatboy. What do you think.”
wife: “That’s really nice looking. How much?”
me: (without hesitation- I knew I had to ease her into this, and I had a masterplan) “Oh, about $14,000.”
wife: “Well, looks like that won’t be happening anytime soon.”
me: (flipping a few more pages) “ Hey, how do like this one? (Yamaha V-Star Classic)”
wife: “Kinda looks like that other one. That looks nice too, but we’re not paying $14,000 for a bike!”
me: (ready to set the hook) “Wow, says here it’s only about $6000.”
wife: “I like that bike a lot better.”

And so goes the first part of the plan. I purchased a 99 V-Star Classic, and loved every minute of it. And just as I thought, so did my wife. We rode all over Texas, and Germany once we moved here in 2000. Germany is such a beautiful place to ride, but the season is very short (4 months tops). And being in the Army makes it even shorter considering we go to the field about once a month.

The next part was the “upgrade”. Surprisingly it wasn’t hard to convince her that we needed a bigger bike for trips. The 650 V-Star (pics attached)is a great first bike. I lowered it, punched the pipes, and fed it lots of chrome. It is a handsome ride that never let me down. But it was time for a new bike.