V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. My name is Dan, I am a 23 year old active duty Air Force F-15 crew chief soon to be stationed at Kadena AFB, Okinawa, Japan. Coincidently there is a Harley dealer on base there...

I have been riding since 2000. My first bike was an '83 Honda Nighthawk 450, then short stints with an '81 Honda CB900F Super Sport and a Honda CB650 until I rode a '96 Honda VFR750 for about 30,000 miles.

I got into an unforunate accident on the Bay Bridge in San Francisco where I was pushed into the gaurd rail and alomost went over. Shortly after I sold the bike. At the thime I was already accepted into the Air Force and awaiting orders to boot camp. I figured I'd give riding a little break until I got settled into the military. I don't exaclty want to get back to the sport bike scene. IMHO, now, sport bikes only belong on the track.

In any case I was considering buying a Harley. With the limited research I've done (the HD website and CycleTrader.com) was thinking about the Dyna Super Glide. I am E-2 on a limited budget, but I also have no expenses other than a credit card bill and entertainment. I was looking to spend about $13K with a $14K no **** cap. I have about 45,000 miles under my belt and I can handle a big bike.

Any comments or words of advice about what I should or shouldn't do would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and greetings to all,

Amn Dan Roy, USAF

·
Registered
108 Posts
Dan, Welcome to the VTF. It sounds to me like you have plenty of riding experience to handle a Dyna. If I were you I would look around this forum, ask lots of questions (gobs of great advise here), then after you feel comfortable with what you want go for it. $13-$14K will get you a very decent HD.

·
Registered
2,044 Posts
d-roc217 said:
Hi everyone. My name is Dan

Any comments or words of advice about what I should or shouldn't do would be greatly appreciated.