V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
My first post here, sorry if it mirrors similar posts, but looking for an essentially bolt-in gear drive cam for this setup that I have been running since new in 2000. Riding style is mostly two-up touring, but like to feel the power when I twist the grip at any common touring RPM range.

2000 Road King FLHR, 30k miles, runs well but occasional detonation and hot start kick-back
95" SE kit
SE heads, no compression releases
44mm SE CV carb and intake manifold
Borla slip-on mufflers with stock head pipes, but planning head pipes upgrade
SE ignition module
SE 203 cam, but looking to try something else in a gear drive cam

I have a few in mind, but want to hear what others think.
Thanks

(UPDATE: also has 10.5:1 SE forged dome pistons)

·
not sober all the time
6,105 Posts
I run a Wood TW-6G in my 2004 Road King with compression right at 10/1. It's a "bolt in" cam with .510" lift. It has pretty decent low RPM manners and produces a nice flat torque curve from 2,500 to 5,500. I don't know if it will produce a substantial power increase over the 203 but that's what I run. A good 2-1 exhaust will help extract good performance. I have used a White Bros E series and currently have a D&D Fat Cat on it.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
S&S 570G, reference "hippo" build on google search
I have looked up the "hippo" build. I have read that I may or may not have to relieve the pistons for valve clearance. Until someone can guarantee that I don't have to do that, I don't want to take the risk. I'm trying to avoid tearing the top end down. I know I could test valve clearance without a tear down, but I would have to buy the cams first. I'd rather know that parts are compatible before buying them.

·
Registered
5,674 Posts
Until someone can guarantee...