V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am posting this for those that have questions about the SERT and may be a bit shy about the tuning methods;

I have no experience using the SERT other than on my current bike. I do, however, have a lot of experinece using ECM programming software from my LT-1 and LS-1 GM car racing past. The LS1edit software was damn near identical to what I see with the SERT. In fact, the data collection portion is identical except for the exclusion of the O2 readings.

Just a few pointers from someone who learns the 'hard way';

1. Take iddy biddy steps. Never make large 'wholesale' changes to any of the paramiters.

2. Patience is the key. Understan that you will not make one program change and be done.

The key to using SERT is to focus on one area at a time. For instance, on my bike I started with a canned map. I have made eight revisions to the programming just in the low RPM, low throttle area.

If you try to do too much at one time, you will get lost....

·
Premium Member
451 Posts
michael:

Thanks for sharing your findings here!

Many have stated that there are some "givens" to starting with a canned map in that most riders immediately notice some sort of decel pop right off the bat.

Seems the concensus so far is to reduce the Decel Enleanment as much as 50% and add about 5%-7% to the VE tables at 0 and 2% Throttle up to ~4000 RPM. Another rider claims bumping the spark advance to
add 5degrees advance to both front and rear cyl in the 20 and 30 columns from 1250 to 3000 RPM
was necessary to get rid of decel popping.

Any comments as to how your experiences may relate to the above?

Am also interested in your reasons for attacking the low rpm, low throttle area.

:thanks:

:cheers:

·
Premium Member
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm on rev. 11 today. Like I said before, I like to take one problem at a time, I'm just simple minded.