V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a novice at this but am picking up tomorrow a 1984 Sportster that looks okay overall but has a dented fuel tank I'd like to replace. I'm pretty sure the tank on it didn't originally go with the bike, and perhaps the fenders don't either? The owner apparently got it this way and doesn't know either. In any case, the tank has the speedo built right into it and so if I replace the tank do I need to find a tank with a speedo built in or can I salvage my old one and just put it on the new tank. I can't identify the tank, it looks much bigger then belongs on most sportsters more like a fat bob or something but I do like the look of it on there, just don't like that big baseball sized dent on the left side. Can anyone help me identify the tank and tins (make/model/year?) so I can buy a replacement tank (or maybe find a complete set of used painted tins on ebay or somewhere to replace them?) I'm hoping it is something I can just drop on and have fit without welding etc and am assuming that it's cheaper to find another used tank then to have a body shop repair the dent.

Thanks!
Matt

·
Registered
4,235 Posts
Yup aftermarket - see em on ebay too...doesn't look like a difficult fix...but matching the paint could be an issue...

·
Registered
4,235 Posts
Looks like it could be the one! Remember, that tank will need to be pressure-tested to ensure there are no pinholes, which will be catastrophic to fresh paint. In addition, it will most certainly require bodywork (they ALL do) before paint. These are in addition to the price of paint, so take that into consideration too. Sometimes, you find a set already painted on ebay that might work out....or even one of those exact tanks that has already been painted - that could be good b/c you wouldn't have to worry about leaks or bodywork (hopefully). Jireh cycles is another very good resource too...

·
Registered
4,235 Posts