V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know, pretty technical, but, is there any pressurized oil feed to the primary case?

From looking at it, it doesn't look like there is and that the chain and clutch simply sit in an oil bath and its lubed by the oil that sits in the primary case.

I am new to HD engines, so I just want to make sure what I am seeing is correct.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ok, took it apart, looks like its definitely NOT supposed to share oil between the gearbox, primary drive, and the engine.

I have one hell of a leak on my primary drive side, and, next question becomes, how do I get the primary drive bulkhead off so I can weld this thing.

·
Registered
757 Posts
First, you're 100% correct, no pressurized oil in primary or gearbox; they share the same oil, which passes through holes in the trans trap door. Engine oil is dry sump, contained within engine and oil tank, lines (well sort of, not counting the leaks...)

Not sure what you mean by "pirmary bulkhead". The outer primary cover simply unbolts, and it sounds like you have that off already. The "inner primary" is integral with the engine case. You don't get this "off" without complete disassembly of engine and removal of trans innards; it's the left engine case. What's leaking? What needs welding?

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yep, I was trying to get the trapdoor off..

Any tricks for that?

The crack goes under the trapdoor, all the way to the seam between the two crankcase halves. I have to weld it all to be able to stop the leak.

I just want to get the bike up and running so I can start enjoying it,

I don't want to tear it completely down until I get some bigger pistons, cams, and rods and do all that stuff at that time.