V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm new to bikes. New to Harleys. I picked up a shovelhead 66 that was last on the road in about 2005. Ive driven it a bit around the block. engine runs strong. I'm having some blue smoke coming out of the front exhaust and the exhaust is a bit gummy. No smoke coming out of the back exhaust and pipe is bone dry. 1 thing is the previous owner filled it right to the top with oil. could this be the cause? I havent drained it yet.

And I haven't been able to find the oil filter...

IT is the bottom exhaust pipe at the front of the engine. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
5,739 Posts
prob valve guides, is the front plug oil fouled?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Pretty as it is, I think that things on it's last leg and about to blow up but I'd be willing to take it off your plate man…:)JK

Only 2 ways oil can get into the combustion chamber, rings and guides. A leak down test will tell you which one it is.

Also, being new to bikes, know that a Shovel is a good motor, but takes time to unf*ck 45 years of monkeywrenching, and even when that's done, they're still a bit more maintenance and "hands on" than an evo or twinkie. Check these guys out…

http://shovelhead.us/forum/

·
Registered
5,739 Posts
Yup I was thinking rings or guides, but being it is the front cylinder, I was betting Guides.
As you say compression test will tell better

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
OKay, I will do a compression test this week at some point. What kind of compression should I be looking for across the two cylinders.

One point is that this bike has sat for a few being 5 or so years and the owner filled the oil right to the top. Could be experiencing what they call 'blow by'?

Could the seals be dried right out?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Also I pulled the front plug out today and it was kind of gummed up. the rear plug was a bit fouled but dry as a popcorn fart.