V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
DR EVO
1,757 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi i am new to harley. just bought my first one, a 95 heritage softail with 4k miles on it. it has what i think are hd slip on pipes. the bike runs great but if you roll the throttle all the way on it bogs. i then roll the throttle off until it unbogs. it starts to pull if you ease the throttle past the point it bogs. is this normal? i dont beleive it has any intake mods other than a different cover (one of those golden eagle live to ride thingys). the plugs look right on to me, if not just towards the lean side.

here is a pic any help would be appreciated

·
Registered
159 Posts
The Bog

I have experienced bog over the years and it can be a lot of things. A couple that I have personally found are....a clogged air filter, a bad ignition, stopped up pipes and a partially clogged fuel filter. Since this is happening at 3/4 to WFO thorttle I would tend to lean towards something inhibiting the flow of fuel/air mixture at those times. I suspect the fuel filter may be causing this because you casn back off re-apply the throttle and it picks up.

Hope this helps.

Budman :)

·
DR EVO
1,757 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·