V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm kind of at a loss as to how to describe my issue, but here goes.

I enter a corner at about 20 over what's posted and just as I reach the apex the front wheel tries to tuck then comes back then repeats until I exit the turn, in a pretty rapid frequency. It doesn't do it all the time, and it feels like the suspension isn't consistent, and is more noticeable in corners with rough pavement. I have been riding an FZ-1 since August 2007 and can pretty much double the corner posted speed, as in 70 in a 35, on it and it's like it's on rails. Could I possibly have a bad tire or is it the suspension or just typical of a cruiser?

jim

·
Registered
32 Posts
Did it just start doing this or has it done it since you've owned it? What have you checked? is tire pressure adequate? Are the tires worn or abnormally worn? It's obviously not going to compare to an fz1 but the main differences are going to be steering quickness and parts that drag when leaned over too far. On my buell I can easily double the speed limit in corners but on my 97 fxdl parts start to drag about 10 mph before double, but I don't feel anything weird before that.

·
Registered
9,250 Posts
Tires, alignment, loose or worn steering head bearings - a number of things to check. If it just began and you've changed nothing on the bike I'd guess worn tires or steering stem head.

Had a similar symptom on mine and that's what it was.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It only has 5k miles on the clock. I doubt steering parts but I'll check that over. TP is up but I may need to adjust it one way or the other to see what works. It might just be road surfaces. I notice it more on the roads that use a form of chip seal rather than paving and this causes inconsistent surfaces with high and low channels. I'll play with TP first.

jim

·
Registered
316 Posts