V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding a 1988 Electra Glide Sport FLHS for 19 years. Love the bike, but it is not the greatest in the twisty back roads. I have been thinking of upgrading to a "new" bike like a 2001 Electra Glide Standard or Road Glide.
All of the press on Harleys is always on the improved power train but never mentions much about handling. Has it improved over the years? or does anyone have any suggestions about making my bike more of a back road bike?
I am not expecting it to be a sport tourer like a Kawasaki Concours; I am just wondering if there have been any aftermarket improvements or if the newer bikes handle better.

·
Ignore List Parolee
168 Posts
Personally, I'd dump some money into that old girl of yours. If you want/need to upgrade then MECHANICALLY speaking get ONLY an '02. The bottom end bearings are Timkens, it has the lastest generation of swingarm & pivot shaft bearings, plus the 1" axles and if you go EFI it has the Delpi unit. TK.

·
Banned
78 Posts
I've got a Softail Springer and an Ultra Classic. With the Springer, I have to "keep hold" of the bar at low speed whereas the Ultra has a very light load. The differences are huge in the low speed handling area so I understand what your asking about with the differences in the bikes (Springer front end - Ultra front end). I think the difference comes into play with the degree of rake, all the baggers and dressers should have the same rake. (I give you permission to get the new bike, but keep the old.)

·
Registered
9,150 Posts
I've got an '05 RK Custom and I consider the suspension upgrades I've done equal to the power upgrades.

I added the Progressive 440 shocks to the rear and the Progressive fork springs to the front... night and day difference in the hills around here.

·
Registered
13,064 Posts