V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, just upgraded from my carb 00 Fatboy to 06 R/K. I'm new to the EFI & wanted to know:
is a re-map the same as stage 1 ? (already doing the AC & V&H slip-ons)
dealer said they would re-program for $150.00. Is this a new flash to the ecm or just new fuel parameters like a Fuelpak or somethin?

just a little confused.

thanks

Dave

·
Registered
1,460 Posts
00 Fatboy said:
Hi guys, just upgraded from my carb 00 Fatboy to 06 R/K. I'm new to the EFI & wanted to know:
is a re-map the same as stage 1 ? (already doing the AC & V&H slip-ons)
dealer said they would re-program for $150.00. Is this a new flash to the ecm or just new fuel parameters like a Fuelpak or somethin?

just a little confused.

thanks

Dave
Hi 00 Fatboy and welcome to the forum..............save the 150 and put to a DFO............use this to set up your bike and run it until you are ready to move on................then go to the SERT....................as this has everything you will need to tune your bike when you go to any future upgrades.

The SERT allows you to:

lower your idle speed
Raise your rpm limit
Adjust ALL fuel requirements both add in and take away in every fuel cell the Stock ECU uses
Adjust ALL spark advance and retard requirements
Lets you do the stage I download your self
Lets you talk to other members and get maps from those who have a similar build to yours
Will evetually let you tune your bike in minutes.

Only draw back is that it marries it self to 1 bike............but that has been hacked also to let you buy it once and use on other bikes you might buy.

All the best, Ozzie

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the quick response Ozzie, what is a DFO?
Not sure about buying the SERT as I do no have access to a laptop

Dave

·
Registered
1,460 Posts