V-Twin Forum banner

Loud Pipes and listening to the Radio

3K views 21 replies 18 participants last post by  adlerx 
#1 ·
I am trying to decide which pipes to purchase for my Street Glide coming next month. I have always liked the rumble of Vance & Hines pipes that I have had on all my bikes but they are loud. One of the reasons I am trading my Softail Deluxe up for a touring bike is the radio. I am a musician and the thought of having tunes when riding is just too appealing for me. I will be doing a 95" stage 2 or maybe something a little more aggressive and I want to get pipes that are performace oriented, have a nice growl, but will still allow me to listen to tunes. I have been thinking about the Rhineharts and have heard good things about the performance of those pipes. Are there are any other pipes I should be considering?

Thanks

#3 ·
I'm looking at either BUB Sleepers or Sampson Stealth mufflers for my Road King Classic. I've read that they are both louder than stock but not real loud. I have not however heard any in person. Also the discussion here on the forum is sounding very positive for Rush mufflers. The smallest baffle they come with (1.75 dia.) might be what you are looking for.

semper fi

#5 ·
BluesMan69 said:
I was thinking about a Thunderheader but aren't those pipes too loud to be able to hear the radio?
Not in my opinion. Your radio should have a volume sensor according to your RPMs. TH have a low rumble noise as oppose to a high pitch tin can noise. Plus the 2:1 gives great performance so I hear.

#7 · (Edited)
jmorton10 said:
Thunderheaders perform very well(I had a set a few years ago), but they are probably the last thing I would ever recommend to anyone trying to hear a radio......

~John