Front brake activates the brake light but the rear brake doesn't : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > Technical Discussion Forums > Electrical, Wiring and Lighting
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2012, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
I haven't seen your bird.

MadCity is reading this now saying WTF is this?
Front brake activates the brake light but the rear brake doesn't

Okay, I did the obligatory search and couldn't find an answer to my question. I just noticed today that the front brake lever activates my brake light, but the back brake pedal does not. Are the two independent of each other (two lights and one is burned out)? I took off the brake light cover to take a look, but there's some sort of wiring harness in there and I'm reluctant to pull it apart in case I muck things up and don't have any brake light at all. As you can tell, I'm not a mechanical wunderkind. The bike is a 2003 Sportster Custom 1200.
Advertisement

Old 06-03-2012, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium

Sturge wants to know Dino or Syn?
Not sure about a sporty but mine has a pressure switch for rear brake and a mechanical plunger-type switch in the hand control for the front brake. If it was mine, I would check the electrical leads running from the pressure switch to the brake light. To see if you have a similar setup you can trace brake line from rear master cyl/rear caliper and see if you have a switch in the line, then look for wiring issues. Could also be a bad pressure switch?
Andrews 37 cam
SE camplate/HO oil pump/tensioner upgrade
Dan Vance Ported TB (48mm)
SE II Slip-on's
Built by me with help from VTF
Sturge is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2012, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
AXTELLERATOR

relxn88 wants to know Dino or Syn?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCity View Post