2002 HD's for only 6000 dollars?? : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > V-Twin Forum > V-Twin Forum General Harley Talk
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2005, 08:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wytheville, VA
Posts: 141
dan newberry wants to know Dino or Syn?
2002 HD's for only 6000 dollars??

What's up with this website?


Check out some of the HD prices. Scam? Or are folks actually letting go of these bikes for about 1/2 the normal "going rate?"

dan newberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-30-2005, 08:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Seasoned Rider
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod, Ma.
Posts: 56
a3holerman wants to know Dino or Syn?
Not sure about Autotrader, BUT you will see many bikes on E-Bay with a "Buy it now price" much less that it should be......these are ALL SCAMS. I always ask for a picture of the owner in front of the bike holding the title. This usually weeds out the scum.

Cape Cod
a3holerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 12:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
murphdog's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mauldin, SC
Posts: 1,991
murphdog wants to know where he is and how he got here
Didn't see any bargains in SC, but here's a real deal. Check the phone number

Make Harley-Davidson
Model Harley Davidson
Year 2003
Colors (Ext/Int)
Miles 300
Price $4500
Private Stephen Butler
Location Ny, NY
Phone (17) 3-824000

Description: FREE SHIPPING ! BUY IT NOW PRICE $4500! LAST OF THE HERITAGE SPRINGERS YOU WON'T FIND ONE NEWER THAN THIS! 2003 Drag Bikes Only 300 actual miles. Selling at NO RESERVE and a steal of a starting price.... This bike is all factory original and unmolested. Added accesories: - Transferable HD extended WARRANTY!!! - Rear sissy bar with 100th Annniversary seat back - Detachable winshield - Front and rear chrome engine guards - Rear chrome footboards w/ leather conchos All accessories are factory Harley Davidson and new with the bike. I bought it new in August and have only put 305 easy miles on it. LIKE NEW
!!! REPEAT, NEW!!! email me :butler_39@msn.com

Here's another. Color says green but the included picture shows black.
Area code 235 doesn't exist. Closest thing is country code 235 which is the Republic of Chad.

Make Harley-Davidson
Model Sportster
Year 2002
Colors (Ext/Int) Green/Green
Miles 7196
Price $2200 Negotiable
Dealer Raul Gareth
Location New york, NY
Phone (235) 13563165
murphdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 04:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ghetto Blaster
1bdBagr's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Claremont, Ca
Posts: 3,398
1bdBagr wants to know Dino or Syn?

When are people going to get it??? If it sounds too good to be true...it USUALLY is!!! INSTEAD, Just send them dollars straight to me....at least I'll say thank you! All you folks who think you can get a 2002 HD for 6000 bucks, save the trouble and paypal me $20 bucks and i'll explain the scam in plain english, with NO large words. I will save you at least $ 5980. Sorry for the sarcasm, folks. This just blows me away that people will send off their hard earned$$$ to a friggin' stranger (usually in another faraway country), all to get somethin' fo nuthin'. Kind of like the BS e-mails i get occasionally from some prick (who is some how related to me...) from some backwoods 3rd world country, who needs a place to park some huge amount of money. All they need is my bank account #'s and my social security #'s. We'll gollllleeeee, mister, thats sounds like one heck of a good deal!!! Sorry , the sarcasm surfaced again. To all the Gomer Pyles ( this reference in NO way implys any ill will to our servicemen & women. Just referencing the simpleton mentality...) out there...remember, there is NO free lunch, and NO $6000 dollar H-D's (except maybe an 883 sporty)!!! It's a SCAM!!!

2000 Road King on Mulholland approaching the Rock Store. BEFORE and After at 7000' elevation in Central Ca USFS Scenic Byway
1bdBagr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 09:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Premium Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,720
pasadenajim wants to know Dino or Syn?
You can say... S C A M ????

pasadenajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Seasoned Rider
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: upper mich
Posts: 34
dheard wants to know Dino or Syn?
if you are to dumb to realize what seems to good to be true always is then you deserve to be burned because you probably annoy those of us that are trying to do legitimate deals here on planet earth.
dheard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 11:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
03GLIDE_'s Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego CA.
Posts: 2,765
03GLIDE_ wants to know Dino or Syn?
Those are most likely scams although a buddy of mine just bought a 98 Big Dog for $8,000 with 1500mi. The damn thing runs great. He's been riding it for two weeks now with zero problems.
03GLIDE_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 09:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wytheville, VA
Posts: 141
dan newberry wants to know Dino or Syn?
My guess is it's bait and switch from some dealer out there. I noticed the same type of extremely low pricing on other brands of bikes. I just wondered if any of you guys here had any personal dealings with that place...
dan newberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 09:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hellbound Train
csoday's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baton Rouge Louisiana
Posts: 5,595
csoday is reading this now saying WTF is this?
I have seen some great deals landed on Cycle Trader but you have to pick through the BS
Chuck Soday

'03 FXSTBI 103" Stroker
112 hp -- 121 tq
100% S.E.

My V Twin Gallery
csoday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 12:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Huge Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,286
fourstar wants to know Dino or Syn?
Many times when you see a seemingly low price in Cycle Trader on what is listed as a Harley it is really a "Special Construction" which means it is a "Custom" (and I use the term loosely.) These bikes are difficult to finance, insure, and sell. If you end up contacting a seller, make sure you ask the right questions and examine the VIN and title documents carefully. Like the post above says: "if it looks to good to be true, it probably is." You get what you pay for... if you're lucky.
Can you hear me now?
fourstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
(C)2001-2012 V-twinForum.com All Rights Reserved (C)2001- V-twinForum.com All Rights Reserved
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum