Continue the fight or "new" bike? : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > V-Twin Forum > V-Twin Forum General Harley Talk
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Seasoned Rider

88 FXSTS wants to know Dino or Syn?
Question Continue the fight or "new" bike?

I have been trying to figure out if I might benefit from selling my beloved '88 Evo Springer and investing in a a newer bike, both monetarily as well as with quality ride time. I am an OTR truck driver and am only home 1 weekend a month and 2 weeks a year. It has been a 7 year battle trying to keep the bike running but I can only manage about 2 weekends and it is down for 2 months while I fix it, or I take it to an indy and pay out the nose for labor. If I go for all the tricks for reducing the vibes and bringing down highway RPMs, hoping the work will keep it from shaking itself apart, I will be easily dropping another $3-$5K in the bike. Adding that to what I'd (hopefully) get from selling the Springer, I can walk out with a "new" bike still paid in full.
I have been eyeing either the '07 Wide Glide or the '06 V-Rod Night Rod, both with under 10K mi.
Now for the $64,000 question! Do these newer bikes handle sitting for a month or 2 at a time between rides better than the Evo? I need something that I can jump on and go, as well as something that I can TRUST to get me wherever and back. My poor Springer just can't seem to cut it. I have thought about an newer Evo Wide Glide but I worry i am just getting someone elses problem. Heck the asking prices aren't that far from the 10 year newer bikes.
Looking forward to some insight. Thanks.
88 FXSTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-13-2012, 07:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
IronButt

RG50 wants to know Dino or Syn?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 88 FXSTS View Post