103" Stroker kit : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > V-Twin Performance Forums > Twin-Cam Engine Mods
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2005, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
IronButt

kken6217 wants to know Dino or Syn?
103" Stroker kit

Cost aside, what are the pluses and minuses of this in going from a 95 to the 103? Are strokers reliable, have excessive valve train noise, better exhaust note? Is the longevity similar to a non stroked engine? How much more power can be expected over a stock 95 motor? Is there a stage 1 and stage 2 for a 103?

Thanks,
Ken
kken6217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-13-2005, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Yet another 43 Double D

joediver wants to know Dino or Syn?
no easy answer

I'm far from an expert (although I've stayed at a Holiday Inn Express...) but don't think there is a clear cut answer to your question.

The MOCO sells complete 103 engines (supposedly because dealers weren't installing the kits correctly.) Most folks think the SE 103 kit can use some tweaking (cams). I'm pretty happy with my set up that has lots of gitty up but think you could get better bang for your buck with a primo 95 build -- I was lucky since the better half agreed to the 103 as a birthday present!

I'm sure you heard the old saw: there is no replacement for displacement. IMO, the SE 103 is as big as you can get while "still keeping it Harley." There are many more saavy folks around here who can give you a better answer.

Good luck