Typical Stage 1 set up for a 2004 Fatboy : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > V-Twin Performance Forums > Twin-Cam Engine Mods
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2004, 11:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
FNG :)

NEILB wants to know Dino or Syn?
Typical Stage 1 set up for a 2004 Fatboy

I'm new to Harley Davidson bikes and have just bought 2004 Fatboy carb version. I am thinking of putting on Pipes/Air cleaner/re-jet. I have been recommended Screaming Eagle Pipes but have no idea about filters, Airboxes and jetting requirements. Any advice would be great.

Thanks,

neil
NEILB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-19-2004, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
IronButt

killmeyer000 wants to know where he is and how he got here
se air box kit is one of the best. highly recommended.

if you plan to get slip-on mufflers, you should look into cycle shack slip-ons. i think they sound better than se. plus they are cheaper.

answers about jetting are pretty diverse. don't know that there is any right answer. i can tell you what i did with my 2004 fatboy:

changed only the slow jet to a 48 from the stock 45.
vance and hines long shot pipes.
se air cleaner.
about 4 turns out on the mixture screw.

by the way...you bought the best bike.
killmeyer000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
D_T
Renegade

D_T wants to know Dino or Syn?
4 turns on my bike with a 48 pilot would be entirely too rich. I started with 2 1/2 and haven't strayed far from there. I also put in a 195 main jet.
Old 08-20-2004, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
IronButt

Mtclassic wants to know Dino or Syn?