Adjusting S&S lifters w/limiters : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > V-Twin Performance Forums > Twin-Cam Engine Mods
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Seasoned Rider

flstcruss wants to know Dino or Syn?
Adjusting S&S lifters w/limiters

This is my first time adjusting pushrods. When I bought the bike the cams and adjustable
pushrods were already in the bike 2005 flht. I'm pretty sure they are S&S lifters and pushrods.
They do not look like HD stock lifters and look identical to another set of S&S lifters I have.
I adjusted the PR (32tpi) per the S&S instructions. The oil in the Lifter never bled down as per instructions
this would (could) mean that they are Lifters with limiters in them. So this is where
the question is. The instructions say to collapse the pushrod till you can spin the PR allowing
the valve to fully seat then one more turn PR will remain sloppy till lifters pump back up.
After I did this,my lifters seem to expand taking the play out and the PR is tight agin.
Is there a small window that you have to adjust the PR on lifters that have the limiters.
I thought that the lifter was supposed to be partially collapsed and that oil pressure kept
the lifter solid enough to open the valve when the motor was running.
Seems that the lifter plunger has come back up to the retaining clip I'm guessing its
the spring in the lifter.
Thanks for reading and Happy Thanksgiving
Russ
Advertisement

Old 11-23-2012, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Premium Member

04rkryder wants to know Dino or Syn?
Instructions for adjusting S&S lifters, both standanrd and with travel limiters.

http://www.sscycle.com/feature/featureview.php?s_id=38
04rkryder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2012, 11:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Seasoned Rider