V-Twin Forum banner

Primary Noise?

2K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  TLeath 
#1 ·
First off - I'm no mechanic. I do have the shop manual but what that makes me is a literate non-mechanic. Anyway, here's the deal. On my '06 Ultra if I let it sit for about 3~4 days and then start it up I get a loud chain(?) noise coming from the primary side. Not a chain slapping noise but more of a loud metallic whir. If I stand it up and (this should be a clue) pull in the clutch the noise all but goes away. If I let the clutch out then the noise comes back. If I ride it a bit and let it warm up then the noise is all but gone.

I pulled the derby cover just to make sure there was actually lube in there as it was just at the dealer a month ago for its 1k service. Yup, looks to be plenty of lube and since I didn't have a new gasket I just reused the old one. I figured it would be going to the shop anyway and I'd have them put on a new one.

I'd like a few guesses as to what I should be possibly mentioning to the dealer. For the noise to actually occur again I'd have to leave it there for almost a week but if this noise is something that you guys can clue me in on then maybe the dealer will follow that lead and be able to fix it without actually hearing it. Any suggestion?

Tom

See less See more
G
#2 ·
Primary chain too loose. As the machine warms up, the chain tightens. If you want to check it yourself, and the Service Manual doesn't make it clear, send me a PM.

That's my guess.

The only other "obvious possibility" would be a compensator nut, but I have my doubts about that based upon your description.

Harris

#3 ·
Shouldn't be the chain as I had the dealer install the auto chain tensioner. Unless it is malfunctioning it should be okay. But would that stop making noise when pulling on the clutch? Unless it is something actually in the clutch them I'm baffled.

Thanks for the reply though.

Tom

#6 ·
Harris said: