V-Twin Forum banner

Face mask, wind and anti bug deflector

6K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  '05Train 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

Our club is heading out on a little scoot through a few states, which will end up getting a little cold.

I'm a relative newbie to the cruiser scene, and have always road crotch rockets with full face brain buckets. Now in my older years, and a couple of herniated disks I've made the switch to a VROD.

First thing I noticed when riding with a half shell is that your an open target for bugs, which feels like you been hit by a BB.

Any suggestions on where to get your face some wind, cold, and bug protection? I took a look at ebay, but I'm sure there is place where you guys go. Seems like everything is skulls, is this a target saying your the noob cruiser rider? There are some unique ones out there besides the skulls though.

Anyway a little help in whats the best direction to pick some up, would be greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
Face mask, wind and anti bug deflector
I run a half helmet 95% of the time and when it gets a little tough I snap on a Fog Eater flip up full face shield. It packs a lot better than a 3/4 or full helmet when space is @ a premium. I always have one available on the bike.

Years ago I carried a standard non flip face shield b4 I found out about the flip up.

Keith

#4 ·
^

Thanks for the responce bro. I do have a full faced ARAI hellmet from my R1, that I use on some fast paced highway road trips.

I enjoy almost having nothing just a mere 1/2 brain bucket, and understand that protection is really nil. Just would like to know the best place to get a cool looking bandanna or mask to keep those bugs out of my teeth. Is the stuff on eBay good to go? I road all my life on sport bikes, and don't want to come off as some tool of a weekend warrior attempting to grow a set.

Any links anyone?

#8 ·
FWIW, Any good sporting/hunting shop should have the neck gaiter Bob & Brownjams speak of as well.