shovelhead to FXR tranny : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > Technical Discussion Forums > Pre-Evolution Engine Technical Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2006, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
FNG :)

pedenspeed wants to know Dino or Syn?
shovelhead to FXR tranny

Well I will try to make this as short as possible, but still try and give what ever detail is needed. Long story short, I am building a custom trike and it is my first attempt. I rebuilt a shovelhead engine which is in the frame and am now attempting to put a FXR transmission in. First off, I say it is a FXR transmission, but to be honest, I got it off ebay and the person that sold it to me said it was a '84 FLH. I can find no numbers persay on the transmission to tell me the year or anything about it. I have had an old timer look at it here in town and he thought it came off a dyna, however a inner primary from a dyna did not fit. My first question is, I need to get a clutch set up for it, is there a way to tell what year of FXR tranny it is or is there even a difference in years of the FXR clutch baskets and hubs? Second question is, I need a minimum of 13 1/2 inches between engine shaft and tranny shaft, 14 inches would be better though. Will I need custom belt for the drive, or is there something out there that will work for my application? Any help anyone can give me is very much appreciated. I will continue to scour the net for answers in the meantime.
pedenspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2006, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
VTF Site Sponsor

baggersport wants to know Dino or Syn?
Wow, can you post a pick of the tranny? Is it a 5 speed? What sort of frame/mounts are available? I'm assuming it has a taper on the mainshaft, vs. a spline. What sort of mount is on the rear of the trans. case?

Big Boyz Street Heads