oil pump pinion gear ?'s : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > Technical Discussion Forums > Pre-Evolution Engine Technical Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2010, 01:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
FNG :)

hd1452 wants to know Dino or Syn?
oil pump pinion gear ?'s

I HAVE AN 87' FXRS-SP THAT HAS TAKEN ME 3 YEARS TO RESURRECT. ITS MY FIRST BUILD AND WITH LIMITED FUNDS I EVEN WENT AS FAR AS TRADING MY PICK-UP TRUCK FOR A MOTOR. I SCORED A SHOVELUTION.... SHOVEL BOTTOM, EVO TOP. THE PERSON WHO HAD BUILT THE MOTOR OBVIOUSLY DIDN'T DO THEIR MATH RIGHT WHEN CHOOSING THE VALVETRAIN. SO I'M IN THE PROCESS REPAIRING THE DAMAGE AND PUTTING IN COMPONENTS OF MY CHOICE. WHILE I WAS PUTTING THE CAM AND TAPPETS IN AND DOING MY INSPECTION OF OTHER PARTS I NOTICED THAT I CAN MOVE THE OIL PUMP PINION GEAR BACK AND FORTH ON THE PINION SHAFT ABOUT A 1/4" (GIVE OR TAKE SOME). IS THIS NORMAL OR SHOULD THERE BE A SPACER IN THERE TO HOLD IT STILL?

~THANX
hd1452 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-28-2010, 08:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned

Motor-Psycho wants to know Dino or Syn?
Sound like the snap ring on the other end of the oil pump drive shaft popped off. The pinion gear should have a little bit of play, but not 1/4". If the shaft was moving with the gear, pull the oil pump cover and check the end of the shaft.

Edit: Sorry about that. There should be a spacer between the pump drive gear and the pinion gear. Sounds like way too much walking to me

Last edited by Motor-Psycho; 05-28-2010 at 09:01 AM.
Motor-Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2010, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)

thats what i figured, i didn't seem right with all that movement. thanks for the info.
Old 05-28-2010, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned