trans upgrade 87 Fxr : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > General Discussion Forums > Harley-Davidson FXR
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
FNG :)

broke87 wants to know Dino or Syn?
trans upgrade 87 Fxr

first off I'm new to the fxr and this site so please be patient with me, I blew my trans and want to go with a 6 speed conversion kit from Ultima. has anybody out there used this kit and what do you think of it, I also wanna put a open primary on it with forward controls. I know I'm gonna have to go with a newer style starter with this idea so will the stock amp output be enough for the new starter? Thanks in advance for the help and sorry if these questions have been asked a hundred times before....Mark
broke87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-28-2012, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Swamprat Rider

JayFL459 wants to know Dino or Syn?
I don't have the talent to answer these for you but am sure you will get some replies soon .. Welcome to the Forum ..
Old 11-29-2012, 09:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Motorhead

Thermodyne is reading this now saying WTF is this? Thermodyne is reading this now saying WTF is this?
If you are going to change the primary, then you'll be wanting to switch to the late style splined input shaft. Actually, any time you replace a keyed input shaft you'd be well advised to upgrade to a newer splined shaft. All it adds to the job is the cost of a clutch hub.

You'll also have to check and see what year tranny the belt drive is compatible with. Some of the kits only fit the late style tranny housing.