looking at my first harley and want to do it right : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > General Discussion Forums > Harley-Davidson FXR
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 02:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
FNG :)

fullthrottle89 wants to know Dino or Syn?
looking at my first harley and want to do it right

hello all
im new to this forum but have been using it alot in my search to buy my first harley and it has been very helpful so far. i am new to harleys but am not new to motorcycles ive ridden sportbikes for the past 6 years and put mine down at the track at the beginning of this year. i put it all back together and sold it and decided to slow it down a little more and enjoy my ride.

i found a seller on craigslist that has a 85 fxrs lowglide that he wants to sell for 4k. its not the cleanest bike ever but it would make a nice project to work on and ride as i go. hes had the bike for 5yrs and hasnt put over 500 miles on it because he doesnt have time to ride it.

the bike is mostly stock he said he put new rings and gaskets in the top end, new tires, brakes, and battery. it does have inner primary leak which i assume would just need to be taken off and regasket and seal the whole thing? he also has had it sitting for a while with half a tank of gas in it i opened up the tank and it looked like there was red gunk in it. im guessing that old seafoam or something? other than the simple fact of being dirty as hell and some knicks in the fender it seemed to ride fine after i got the cob webs knocked out of the carbs. anything else i should be worried about ik im bound to find some secret screw up somewhere but would like to know of any major ones before i shell out the cash

thanks alot for any input
fullthrottle89 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement