Oil Capacity? : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > General Discussion Forums > Harley-Davidson Dyna
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2012, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
FNG :)

Lil Fire Dog wants to know Dino or Syn?
Oil Capacity?

I'm new to the Harley world... recently jumped over from the Honda side of things.
I need to knwo how much oil my 2000 HD Dyna Wide Glide holds? I need to do a oil change but can't find anything telling me what the oil capacity is.

also can you suggest a good oil?

Thanks............
Lil Fire Dog is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-17-2012, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Acquisitions

dynageno is reading this now saying WTF is this?
Should be 3 qts. Any good Dino oil unless you want Syn should be fine. I run 50wt Valvoline VR-1 racing.
Old 04-17-2012, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium

Sturge wants to know Dino or Syn?
I've always used Mobil1 15W50...5qt jugs at Wallyworld for about $25.
As for the oil change - Do a search on 'sumping'...many first timers overfill because they don't understand that some oil can slowly run back into lower part of engine when it sits. When you drain the oil from oil tank, the oil that ran back to the sump does not get drained...now you add what you think is the 'correct' amount of oil and fire it up. VOILA...you got a mess because you have more than the recommended amount in the engine.
Andrews 37 cam
SE camplate/HO oil pump/tensioner upgrade
Dan Vance Ported TB (48mm)
SE II Slip-on's
Built by me with help from VTF
Sturge is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2012, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
IronButt

rootintootin wants to know Dino or Syn?