Engine starts then quits : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > Technical Discussion Forums > Evolution Engine Technical Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2007, 12:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
FNG :)

jeffdean wants to know Dino or Syn?
Engine starts then quits

From intermittent strong or reduced power and missing start-ups my 1200 XL now starts for a couple of revs then dies. Every once in awhile it will fire up and run fine with no problems until the next start-up. I cleaned the tank,screen and bottom of carb. Vents and vacuums are open. Battery,coil, and wires checked out O.K. The dealership has it now and a bunch of young buck techs are as perplexed as I am, but I can be perplexed, I'm not a mechanic. I'm also pissed, I gotta H.O.G. rally comin' up in a week. The dealership changed out the intake seals and that didn't work. I talked to an out of town Harley tech and he said hit the ground points, starter relay, ignition switch and if that doesn't work change out the ignition module. Is he on the right track? Thanks for reading this nightmare, Jeff.....
jeffdean is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-26-2007, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
IronButt

harley92 wants to know Dino or Syn?
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffdean