evo motor-oil filter : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > Technical Discussion Forums > Evolution Engine Technical Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2007, 02:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
IronButt

roadchaser wants to know Dino or Syn?
evo motor-oil filter

Does an Evo motor take the same oil filter as a v-twin motor and also how many quarts of oil? It is an 80 cu.in. motor. I am new to the evo motor.Are they a good dependable motor?Also do they sell high performance kits for them? Heads,cam,pistons etc. Thank you much
roadchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-02-2007, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Phemus

steveusmc wants to know Dino or Syn?
EVO is a V-Twin but not a Twin Cam.
3 quarts in the engine.
20-24 oz in the tranny
32-34 oz in the primary (be careful and don't over-tighten the tapered plug)

Same kind of filter...just order by year and model. ie; My 1995 Wideglide uses the long one.
steveusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
IronButt

93FLHS wants to know Dino or Syn?
Red face Read carefully

When selecting your filter. DO NOT use a TC filter. It will cause the sump to hold more oil than the pump can scavenge. Don`t ask how I learned.
93FLHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Seasoned Rider

NCC1 wants to know Dino or Syn?
Performance Parts

I like the S&S kits for engineered hop up performance with good reliability.

There new bolt in cam works good too.

An easy up grade is an ignition module, some just plug right in and fit where the old one was. You don't even have to mess with your timing!
They use a LED for a timing aid so you can use it when you change your cam.

Best advice for you would be to order the Harley service manual and parts book. The parts book is great for exploded views. There worth the dough.