Won't start in cold : V-Twin Forum: Harley Davidson Forums
» Sponsors

» Insurance
Go Back   V-Twin Forum : Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Forums > General Discussion Forums > Choppers and Customs General Discussion
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2009, 07:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
FNG :)

JJBlue wants to know Dino or Syn?
Won't start in cold

Greetings All, first let me apopligize if I am posting in the wrong thread. I'm late for work and the bike won't start. Going crazy here! I'm new to this site and just purchased my first custom. (AIH LSC 2005) I had a yamaha vstar for many years and moved up.

The problem is this. The bike is a week old. I live in military housing with no garage. It's 25 degrees here and the bike wont start AGAIN! Is there anything I can do to make starting easier in cold temps? I had it on the battery tender all night and I hit the compression thingys a hundered times.

I'm new at this so don't beat me up too bad. Thanks in advance! I'm a FNG!!

Last edited by JJBlue; 03-03-2009 at 07:12 AM.
JJBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2009, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)

JJBlue wants to know Dino or Syn?
Come on, anybody have any ideas???
JJBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 02:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
IronButt

Raywood wants to know Dino or Syn?
What do you mean by bike won't start?

Is it turning over?
Is it getting fuel?
Do you have spark?

Are you flooding it out with the "enrichener"?

If it's just cold and is not turning over then what condition is your battery in?
You need 12.8 volts to start that motor.
How old is the battery?
Are all the terminal connections tight? I tighten/check mine weekly as they work loose pretty quick.

Give us some more info and we can help you out better.
Later,
Ray
Old 03-08-2009, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
IronButt

bwana01 wants to know Dino or Syn?