V-Twin Forum banner

Best bike for a beginner please?

136K views 278 replies 94 participants last post by  jim2008 
#1 ·
Hi,
I am a total beginner but at the age of 45 have decided that the call of a harley is to good to turn down. I live on the beach in florida and want to use a harley for cruising the beach roads on 50 mile journeys.
I went to my local dealer who was extremely helpful.
I liked both the sportster and softail.(but i guess the softail may be just a bit to big for me to start with).

Would those machines be suitable and should I go for a new model or for a 2000 or 2001 used model. I guess i will do 1000 miles per year. Id like to take my wife on occasional rides but not long trips.

thanks

#2 ·
Hey Novice welcome to the forum, great to have you my first recomendation is to take a MSF course, then look at the bike that fits you and the lady. if cost is not a big factor the Harley world is open to wide choice of machines. the Sportster is a great bike and many, many riders started there. take your time and start on the right foot.

#3 ·
If what you say is true, (total beginner as in never on a bike) consider something less than a Harley. Buy an old junker to learn on. If you wreck it, you haven't lost much. After you become familiar with riding and after the MSF course, the sky is the limit. Harley's are heavy and expensive. While learning, stay away from heavy traffic. I agree with Sammy, the Sportster is a great bike but two up riding leaves something to be desired. The Dyna family would be an option if cost is a factor. Good luck.

#273 ·